Message sent from:

Chris Quigley - Provides the depth for our learning

The Essentials Curriculum

We aim to provide through high quality teaching and learning experiences every child with the key knowledge and transferrable skills they require to achieve in all subjects and develop a love of learning which will be with them for their whole life.

To meet these expectations, and those of the National Curriculum (Breadth of Knowledge), we follow the Essentials criteria as set out by Chris Quigley (Depth of Knowledge).  

Within this system we operate as 3, 2 year Milestones - Milestone 1 (Years 1 and 2), Milestone 2 (Years 3 and 4) and Milestone 3 (Years 5 and 6). 

Within each Milestone, children develop the knowledge and transferable skills which allow them to access all areas of the curriculum . Children work their way through 3 developmental stages, Basic, Advancing and Deep, this is dependent on their cognitive development and confidence. 

It is our expectation that children at the end of Year 1, 3, 5 will be working at the end of the basic expectations in order to be described at Age Related Expectations. Children at the end of Years 2, 4, 6 will be working at the end of advancing in order to reach Age Related Expectations.

In order for children to reach these expectations, we set them challenge questions, set them next step targets and employ a range of teacher, peer and self assessment strategies. 

Please speak to Mr Elms if you require any further information on Chris Quigley or the general curriculum. 

Visual example of the Chris Quigley Essential Depth Approach

Hit enter to search